User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Kellarly: hehe, nothing changes there then!
    Today at 09:26:19
  • Bad Raven: Is the issue Turnigy or Turnigy Nano-Tech? I have found that mid-blue Turnigy tend to be low on their stated "C" discharge rating.
    Today at 08:37:09
  • ched999uk: RaceDayQuads have some cheap but good batts out now. Josh B tested and stats say very good especially at price. HobbyRC have 1300mAh 4S just under £20. Not had luck with Turnigy lipos either!!
    July 15, 2018, 22:48:51
  • Reman: Just realised that I hadn't gone through my stored Li-Po's for about a month. I try to visually check them every Saturday, And prod the plugs with a multimeter about once a month. Todays seen 12 more bulging packs go out to the incinerator..... All but one was a bloody Turnigy! Part of me wan't to burn the rest now and just get a load more Tattu packs, But I've spent good money on these packs and wan't to at least get a little more use out of them. :(
    July 15, 2018, 19:54:53
  • Bad Raven: Pre MR's I used to buy a lot from J.Perkins. Their website showed all items and stock or due date, go to dealer and buy with confidence. Then they went all "lifestyle" and all the site had were pictures or people. I wasn't after people. I never bought again. Yes, you'd think they'd learn...........
    July 15, 2018, 17:51:40
  • ched999uk: Reman sounds like amazon search. I find it ok unitil you want to search by price then amazon falls apart.... You would think both companies would get it right...
    July 15, 2018, 16:54:55
  • Reman: It's strange. The original setup they had about 5 or 6 years back wasn't too bad (Except for them occasionally getting accounts hacked), But they changed it to the last one that was clunky and slow, Now they've replaced that with a flashier one that's also clunky and slow ?!?!?! Most companies learn from what they do wrong. I don't buy from HK half as much as I used to, Mainly because it takes forever to trawl through 100 pages of totally unrelated stuff while looking for something you were thinking about getting when you saw it there the previous week !!!
    July 15, 2018, 16:27:21
  • hoverfly: I don't think there is a search button on H/King. They updated the site and forgot to  relabel the search button with  Random bo##ocks..
    July 15, 2018, 09:47:35
  • Bad Raven: Agree - The Search is abysmal!!
    July 15, 2018, 08:40:52
  • Reman: I see HobbyKing's revamped their site again...... Shame they haven't made the search function work any better, Or worked out why the whole site goes slower than a pensioner in a Nissan Micra. :)
    July 15, 2018, 08:28:14
  • Reman: How thick is Google? You buy something online, Then for the next week you get targeted adds for the item you've just got?!?! That's the one item you're NOT going to be buying again at that point so it's wasted effort of there part. :)
    July 14, 2018, 08:50:51
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    July 13, 2018, 23:56:20
  • Kellarly: as does my ability not to realise what i've already typed
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:42
  • Kellarly: Wahooo, my whoop now lives!
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:19
  • Kellarly: yay, the whoop lives!!!
    July 13, 2018, 22:18:43
  • DarkButterfly: Had to replace the battery connector
    July 12, 2018, 10:57:47
  • Kellarly: good work! what was up with it?
    July 12, 2018, 10:39:33
  • DarkButterfly: Fixed my tiny6
    July 12, 2018, 10:23:59
  • Kellarly: FFS, bought the wrong FC for my whoop. Saw D16 and thought it was EU-LBT ok, but nope :(
    July 12, 2018, 08:32:22
  • Reman: The ergonomics of the TGY feel better, But every new revision of the firmware brought more bugs (The last version had a bug where opening the gimble menu would cause the TX to crash and reset to factory defaults !!!). So what I was hoping was to end up with a stable FS-i10 with a nicer layout.
    July 11, 2018, 06:25:19

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2  (Read 14243 times)

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« on: January 05, 2013, 16:51:50 »
Hi all,
 :help: Need some help here. (newbee on MegaPirate)
I';m having a new Crius FC AIO Pro loaded with "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2".
Before that I had a Crius SE having no problems with this SE board.
But here';s my thing now.

I can arm the motors (yaw to the right, solid red led)
Motors are not spinning, but when i push the throttle a little bit (say 1%) they start up in iddle speed. If i want to disarm, I still can.
But, when I push the throttle more (say +/-30%) motors are spinning more rpm, but i want to return to idle rpm, the motors keep on running (in idle speed) and i can';t DISarm (yaw left) any more.

My config is:
Futaba FC 18 v1 (hacked with Assan 2.4G)
RX Assan X8R9
4-ESC Turnigy Plush 30A
FC is Crius aio pro V1.1
Software is "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2"

Anyone ???
Ps: I';m Dutch, so I hope my English is good anough  ;)

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4592
  • Liked: 729
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 17:01:39 »
Hi Polleke1949 and welcome to the forum they have now released megapirateNG 2.8r3 because the r2 had some problems, you would be far better trying that and see if you still have the problem, if you do then you could try putting your throttle trim down a little to see if that helps, or make the rudder end points a little wider  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 18:52:07 »
Hi Gaza07,
Thank you for the quick answer. ~~
The "R3" version seems to work fine (as showing in the AMPlanner).........however, now the motors have the well known fast beep, beep, beep sound. (even after recallibrating)
In the "multiwii" software there';s a configuralble setting on the "minthrottle".
I remember i had to set this value at 930 (stock is 1000)
Is there also a configurable minthrottle setting in the R3 as well, because i can';t find it.
Or need I to do something else?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2013, 19:00:39 by Polleke1949 »

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4592
  • Liked: 729
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 21:11:00 »
Hi Polleke1949 I have installed v2.8r3 on mine and got the same as you the esc';s are out of calibration range, I just re-calibrated my esc';s and they worked fine,
When you install a new firmware are you dropping into terminal and doing an erase of the eeprom
this removes and settings that may have been left from the previous version, I always do this when upgrading the firmware  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 11:17:28 »
Hi Gaza07,
First i erased the eeprom and installed the "R3".
The board does arm and disarm when i apply the transmitters yaw stick (showing also in the AMPlanner gui)  ~~, but......
when i move the throttle, nothing happens. motors will not spin  :confused:
Please  :help:

 [ Invalid Attachment ]
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 12:54:14 by Polleke1949 »

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4592
  • Liked: 729
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2013, 14:09:34 »
Did you re-calibrate your esc';s  :confused:

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2013, 14:31:38 »
Hi Gaza07,
First of all let me thank so much for helping me this way.  ~~ ~~ ~~
Yes, I did recallibrated my esc';s.
In fact, I started all over again (clearing eeprom, loading software, call esc';s and tx) and guess what???
It';s working now  :beer2:

btw. As I';m new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2013, 14:40:13 »
Hi guys. Can I ask how you erased the eeprom?

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2013, 14:52:51 »
Start up your Arduino software.
goto "file"
"example"
"eeprom"
"eeprom clear"
don';t forget to connect your board  ;)
your red led should be solid when done. [ Invalid Attachment ]

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2013, 15:04:53 »
Nice one.
 ~~ I hadn';t seen it sitting there!!!

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4592
  • Liked: 729
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2013, 15:32:51 »
Thats not actually the erase I was talking about but it gets the job done  ~~
When your in the mission planner you click the Terminal button which drops you in to the cli (command line interface) once you see the promt in the cli type setup then return the prompt will now show the word setup, next type erase this then erases all the settings from the eeprom but not the actual firmware once the erase is complete the default settings are rewritten by the firmware back in to the eeprom  ~~

The reason for doing this is to remove any old pid or other settings from the eeprom that may not work well with the new firmware  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2013, 14:09:55 »
btw. As I';m new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

At my missionplanner HUD it apeares on the lower right just above GPS status.
at the configuration page there is an option to configure the flightmodes, the active mode will be highlighted in green.

if you just start learning multirotor flying, just set all modes to stable to get to know your plane, once you have the hang of it add a mode, and so on...

tripple check all your flightmodes, i almost lost my plane once because I didn';t check it thorough enough (TX failure)
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2013, 18:47:01 »
GGGGRRRRR   :cry   :banghead:
Just started the copter (lucky me with no props)
Still got my problem. AGAIN

Will i do it all over every time????

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4592
  • Liked: 729
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2013, 19:23:20 »
Step away from the copter and count to 10  ;) these things can really be annoying but some times a break from it can help a lot, I hope you get it sorted soon  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2013, 20:24:20 »
I think clearing your eeprom so much is not helping, this is only neccesary once when you switch from multiwii to mpng (or if you realy screwd-up the settings)

I think this is the procedure from scratch:

TX calibration link to arducopter intro
1. set all your TX trims and subtrims to zero and disable expo/dr
2. if your TX has calibration, do it.
2b. I had to reverse my pitch on my TX (er9x) for mpng (multiwii was normal)
3. Calibrate TX from missionplanner
4. all sticks should be centered, throttle should be minimal. before you click Ok at the popup

power toggle everyting (copter and TX) and check if the ranges are still OK, eg every step of movement on your TX results in movement at the configuration-txcalibration screen of missionplanner.
as sanity you can check if there is a difference in powering your copter from lipo or USB-only

next ESC calibration link to original document from arducopter
!!! with no props: !!!
0. copter off completely (no lipo nor usb)
1. TX on
2. throttle max
3. fully power your copter (logic and ESC';s)
4. wait for rolling leds
-- the copter has now enabled passtrough to all four esc';s
5. power off the copter and wait a few sec (capacity in the ESC';s need a second or so to deplete)
6. still trhottle max
7. power copter again
8. wait for special beep-tone of esc(motors) (i think the "123" tone) comfirming max throttle
9. set throttle minimal and wait for reversed beeps (321) confirming min. throttle
10. wait for long confirmation beep
11. toggle the power of the copter with throttle down. mpng starts in normal mode

don';t use your TX trims to trim your copter. http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Flying

please, also check out the links and other information from APM, it is actualy almost the same except the pcb and the connections (sanity check ;) )

succes er mee, good luck with it!
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 10:50:41 »
Thank you willumpie82
So far so good.............